UT among founder members of Baltic Geopolitics Network

The official launch event will take place on 20 January. In addition to the University of Tartu, the founding members include nine other universities from the UK and Baltic area.

The Baltic Geopolitics Network is an informal network connecting scholars from leading universities and research institutes from across the UK and the Baltic area to build and disseminate knowledge on the history and politics of the greater Baltic region. The launch of the network was led by the Centre for Geopolitics of the University of Cambridge, and the Johan Skytte Institute of Political Studies – an umbrella to CEURUS – is the partner from the University of Tartu.

The official launch event of the network takes place on Wednesday, 20 January at 12:00 EET (10:00 GMT) online. The event will be opened by HE Kersti Kaljulaid, the President of the Republic of Estonia. Keynote introductions will be given by Professor John Bew, Professor David Abulafia and Edward Lucas, followed by a panel discussion. Everybody is welcome and participants are kindly asked to register their attendance online.

Week after that, on 26 January, an event is held to commemorate the 100-year anniversary of diplomatic relations between Estonia and the UK, when on 26 January 1921 the United Kingdom gave formal de jure recognition to the Republic of Estonia. This special event is organised by the Centre for Geopolitics at Cambridge University and the University of Tartu, in collaboration with the Estonian Embassy in London, the British Embassy in Tallinn and the Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The online panel discussion dedicated to the anniversary will include Rt Hon Charles Clarke, former Home Secretary, Patrick Salmon, Chief historian at the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office and an expert on Britain’s relationship with the Baltic, and Kaarel Piirimäe, Associate professor at the Institute of History and Archaeology, University of Tartu and a senior research fellow at the Estonian War Museum. The webinar will conclude with remarks from the UK Ambassador to Estonia, Theresa Bubbear and the Estonian Ambassador to the UK, Tiina Intelmann.

The founder members of the Baltic Geopolitics Network are the Universities of Cambridge, Copenhagen, Gdansk, Glasgow, Greifswald, Helsinki, Klaipeda, Latvia, Tartu and Uppsala.

Continue reading about the network on its website.

For more information, please contact: Dr Piret Ehin, Associate Professor of Comparative Politics, Johan Skytte Institute of Political Studies, piret.ehin@ut.ee

Forwarded by:
Maili Vilson, Head of Communications, maili.vilson@ut.ee