Call for Expressions of Interest: Marie Curie Individual Fellowships

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowships
in the field of Russian, East European, and Baltic Studies
at the University of Tartu, Estonia

Johan Skytte Institute of Political Studies and the Centre for EU-Russia Studies at the University of Tartu are looking to host exceptional fellows in the framework of the EU’s Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowships scheme. The scheme enables eligible applicants to come to the University of Tartu for a period from 12 to 24 months with the aim of research, career development, and knowledge transfer. We are particularly interested in applicants with expertise relevant to Russian,  East European and Baltic Studies (with a focus on contemporary political and societal developments).

The University of Tartu is one of Eastern Europe’s leading  research institutions. QS University Rankings: Emerging Europe and Central Asia 2018 ranks the UT as the third best university in the entire post-communist region. Founded in 1632 and located in the lively yet peaceful city of Tartu in South Estonia, the UT has four faculties, including Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Medicine, and Science and Technology, and approximately 13,000 students (including over 1000 international students from 70 countries).

The Johan Skytte Institute of Political Studies at the University of Tartu combines top-level research with a dynamic, international learning environment at all three levels of higher education. The Institute has built up considerable competences in Russian and Eastern European Studies. Since 2011, the Institute has been a home to the Centre for EU-Russia Studies (CEURUS) which pools relevant competences from a range of disciplines, including the Social Sciences, Economics and Law. Ongoing, thematically relevant projects implemented by the Centre and the Institute include a Horizon 2020 Twinning project “Building Research Excellence in Russian and East European Studies at the Universities of Tartu, Uppsala and Kent” (UPTAKE, 2016-2019),  a Horizon 2020 MSCA Innovative Training Network project FATIGUE: “Delayed Transformational Fatigue in Central and Eastern Europe,” (2018-2021) and an Open Society Foundations Eurasia Program project “Hosting OSF Eurasia Program Fellows at the University of Tartu” (2017-2020). The UT hosts the Annual Tartu Conference in Russian and East European Studies, a major meeting of academics and experts working on the region.

 Eligible researchers

  • are of any  nationality;
  • have a doctoral degree or at least four years of full-time equivalent research experience;
  • have not resided or carried out their main activity (work, studies, etc) in Estonia for more than 12 months in the 3 years immediately prior to the deadline for submission (12 September 2018).

Experience suggests that successful applicants have strong CVs, with publications in well-ranked international journals, and significant professional experience  (e.g. teaching, participation in research projects, international experience, non-academic professional experience).

For more information, see:

Please note that the EU has set aside specific funds for fellowships undertaken at institutions located in the so-called Widening countries, including Estonia:

If you are interested, please send a full academic CV, a 1,000 word research project outline and a short cover letter outlining why you think a Marie Curie fellowship at Tartu would boost your career to Dr Piret Ehin ( by April 16, 2018. Selection will be carried out by early May, and selected applicants will be appointed a mentor who will assist them in preparing the application during the summer. The full proposal will be submitted to the European Commission by the 12 September 2018 deadline.

Forwarded by:
Maili Vilson
Research Communication Specialist
Johan Skytte Institute of Political Studies
University of Tartu
+372 737 6584